a header that says year eleven options


NCEA (the National Certificate of Educational Achievement) is the national qualification that Marist College offers. Each year, students study courses and complete internals (in class) and externals (end of year exams) regarding what they have learnt. In Level 1 NCEA, you must get a total of 80 credits (10 must be literacy and 10 must be numeracy) to pass the year.

Marist College Courses

At Level 1, Marist College offers the following optional courses:

  • Visual Art
  • Drama
  • Dance
  • Music
  • Chinese
  • French
  • Te Reo Maori
  • Business
  • Accounting
  • Economics
  • Geography
  • History
  • Digital Technology
  • Home Economics
  • Fabric Technology
  • Physical Education
  • Marist College also requires that you take English, Mathematics, Religious Education and at least one of the following Sciences:

  • General Science
  • Life Science
  • Science Extension
  • Health